, , , ,


SKU: 602445962129

In stock / Άμεσα Διαθέσιμο

Anniversary Edition, Reissue, Remastered, Expanded Edition, High Quality
Released in May 1972, Honky Chateau was the album that made Elton John a superstar, and ushered in a new era for him. Named after the residential studios outside Paris where the album was recorded, Honky Chateau bought a new level of simplicity and directness to Elton’s music that had previously only been seen in glimpses. Shorn of the complexities and ornate orchestrations of his recent work, Honky Chateau seemed freewheeling and intimate. It was helped by Rocket Man, the record which became another of Elton’s signature songs. These special editions contain the original album, and on both vinyl and CD editions a newly created selection of outtakes from the sessions, produced from the original tapes by Matt Still, which highlight the warmth and humour of the sessions.

On CD only there are eight tracks from the album that were recorded at the Royal Festival Hall in 1972, all receiving their live debut, just a few days back in the UK after recording. Assembled with the customary care by Elton’s catalogue team, the album comes as a gatefold with an eight-page booklet with rare photos, memorabilia and an essay by cocurator and music writer Daryl Easlea, featuring interviews from those who were there. Honky Chateau has been mastered at Lurssen in California, and the vinyl cut at Abbey Road.


In stock / Άμεσα Διαθέσιμο

– 1 –
1. Honky Cat
2. Mellow
3. I Think I’m Going To Kill Myself
4. Susie (Dramas)
5. Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going To Be a Long, Long Time)
6. Salvation
7. Slave
8. Amy
9. Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters
10. Hercules
– 2 –
1. Salvation (Session Demo)
2. Susie (Dramas) (Session Demo)
3. Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going To Be a Long, Long Time) (Ses
4. Mellow (Session Demo)
5. Slave (Alternate “Fast” Version) (Session Demo)
6. Honky Cat (Session Demo)
7. I Think I’m Going To Kill Myself (Session Demo)
8. Hercules (Session Demo)
9. Slave (Session Demo)

SKU: 602445962129 Categories: , , , ,

Based on 0 reviews

0.0 overall

Be the first to review “ELTON JOHN – HONKY CHATEAU (2LP VINYL)”

There are no reviews yet.

You may also like…